Indian Space Association

Why in News?

  • Prime Minister Narendra Modi ji has launch of Indian space association (ISpA) on 11 October, which will be a space and satellite companies' industry association.


Structure of Indian space association:

  • Lt Gen. A.K. Bhatt (Retd.) has been appointed as the Director-General of the association while L&T-NxT’s Jayant Patil has become the chairman.


  • Bharti Airtel's Chief Regulatory Officer Rahul Vatts will be the Vice-Chairman of ISpA.

  • Its founding members include Larson and  Toubro, Nelco , OneWeb, Bharti Airtel, Mapmyindia, Walchandnagar Industries and Ananth Technology Limited.

  • Other core members include Godrej, Hughes India, Azista-BST Aerospace Private Limited, BEL, Centum Electronics and  Maxar India.


About Indian space association:

  • Indian Space Association is the Premier Industry Association of Space and Satellite companies, which aspires to be the collective voice of the Indian Space industry.

  • It will undertake policy advocacy and engage with all stakeholders in the Indian Space domain, including the Government and its agencies.

  • Govt of India vision of Aatmanirbhar Bharat, ISpA will help in making India self-reliant, technologically advanced and a leading player in the space arena.

  • ISpA is represented by leading home grown and global corporations with advanced capabilities in space and satellite technologies.



  • Government’s policies will help ensure innovation in the private space sector, ISRO’s facilities will also be opened up to the private sector.

  • ISpA is a private industry body to help boost space technology in India.

  • ISpA will participate and work with ISRO and others on the issue of policy around space technology and domain.

  • It will focus on capacity building and space economic hubs and incubators in India.

Source: PIB 

Structure Reform, Indian Space Association, ISRO Space institute.