Delimitation of Jammu and Kashmir

The Delimitation Commission constituted  under Justice (Retd) Ranjana Prakash Desai is visiting Jammu & Kashmir  The ongoing process of delimitation as mandated under Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019.  


  • Delimitation is the act of fixing or redrawing the limits or boundaries of territorial constituencies 
  • The delimitation exercise is carried out by an independent high-powered panel known as the Delimitation Commission
  • The area of a constituency-based on its population size (based on the last Census)

 Constitutional Basis for Delimitation:

  • Under Article 82, the Parliament enacts a Delimitation Act after every Census.
  • Under Article 170, States also get divided into territorial constituencies as per Delimitation Act after every Census.
  • The Act is Enforce by Union government sets up a Delimitation Commission. For example: Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019.  
  • Delimitation Commission:The Delimitation Commission is appointed by the President of India and works in collaboration with the Election Commission of India.


  • Retired Supreme Court judge.
  • Chief Election Commissioner.
  • Respective State Election Commissioners as well as Dist Election Officer.

 Fact for PSC Pre:

  • Delimitation Commissions have been set up five times -1952, 1963, 1973 , 2002 and 2021 under the Acts of 1952, 1962, 1972 , 2002 and recently 07/07 2021 For Jammu and Kashmi.


Source: PIB & IE

Topic GS-2: Delimitation, Justice (Retd) Ranjana Prakash Desai , Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019