Sports Authority of India


SAI is an apex national sports body of India, founded in 1982 by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports of Government of India for the development of sport in India.


Structure of SAI

  • SAI has two Sports Academic institutions, Eleven "SAI Regional Centres" , Forten "Centre of Excellence" , fifty-six "Sports Training Centres"  and twenty Special Area Games (SAG).

  • SAI also manages Netaji Subhash High Altitude Training Centre (Shilaroo, Himachal Pradesh) as well as  five stadiums in the national capital of Delhi, such as Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium (also serves as national head office of SAI national capital New Delhi.

Two "SAI Sports Academic"

  • Institutions are Netaji Subhas National Institute of Sports at Patiala in Punjab and Lakshmibai National College of Physical Education at Thiruvananthapuram in Kerala , conducting research and running certificate to PhD level courses in physical education and sports medicine.


Eleven SAI Regional Centres

  • Located at clockwise from north Chandigarh, Zirakpur Sonipat, Lucknow, Guwahati, Imphal, Kolkata, Bhopal, Bengaluru, Mumbai and Gandhinagar.


Development in SAI

  • After independence, on 7 May 1961, the National Institute of Sports  was set up for the development of sports at the Motibagh Palace grounds in Patiala. On the 23 January 1973, it was renamed Netaji Subhas National Institute of Sports (NSNIS).


  • The Sports Authority of India originated with the committee formed to host the 1982 Asian Games in New Delhi. On 25 January 1984, "Sports Authority of India" was established as a registered society by the "Department of Sports"" of Government of India's Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. On 1 May 1987, the "Society for National Institute of Physical Education and Sports" (SNIPES) was merged with SAI.


Source: MoY&S ,DoS

Topic MPPSC Prelims: Current National Affairs; Important Sports Institute, Tokyo Olympics.