Interim Government of India

Key Point and Facts

  • Interim Government of India, also call as the Provisional Government of India, formed on September, 2 , 1946


  • Interim Government of India formed September, 2 , 1946 dissolved August, 15, 1947

  • Or in other simple words Congress party formed the government.

  • On September 23, the All-India Congress Committee (AICC) ratified the Congress Working Committee’s decision.

  • The interim government of India led by Jawaharlal Nehru.

  • Means termed as Interim Prime minister Jawaharlal Nehru , Viceroy and Governor-General The Viscount Wavell 1946-47, In1947 Viceroy The Mountbatten.


  • The interim government functioned with a great degree of autonomy, and remained in power until the end of British rule, after which it was succeeded by the Dominions of India and Pakistan.


 The Interim cabinet

  • On September 2, 1946, the Congress party formed the government. On September 23, the All-India Congress Committee (AICC) ratified the Congress Working Committee’s decision.

  • The Muslim League initially decided to sit out of the government, and three of the five ministries reserved for Muslims were occupied by Asaf Ali, Sir Shafaat Ahmad Khan, and Syed Ali Zaheer, all non-League Muslim representatives. Two posts remained vacant.

The cabinet after October 1946 are as:


  •  Vice President of the Executive Council, External Affairs and Commonwealth Relations: Jawaharlal Nehru
  • Home Affairs, Information and Broadcasting: Vallabhbhai Patel
  • Agriculture and Food: Rajendra Prasad
  • Education and Arts: C. Rajagopalachari
  • Defence: Baldev Singh
  • Industries and Supplies: C. Rajagopalachari
  • Labour: Jagjivan Ram
  • Railways and Communications: Asaf Ali
  • Work, Mines and Power: C.H. Bhabha



  •  Commerce: Ibrahim Ismail Chundrigar
  • Finance: Liaquat Ali Khan
  • Health: Ghazanfar Ali Khan
  • Law: Jogendra Nath Mandal
  • Posts and Air: Abdur Rab Nishtar

Some of the decisions by the cabinet are as follow:

Based on Nahru Future Indian Foreign Policy

  • Government’s plan to engage in direct diplomatic relations with all countries and goodwill missions.

  • India ratified the Convention on International Civil Aviation.

  • Embassy level diplomatic relations with the USSR and the Netherlands also started in April


  • Indian Commonwealth Relations Department and the External Affairs Department were merged to form the single Department of External Affairs and Commonwealth Relations.


Partition Era

  • After Partition was announced on June 3, dedicated cabinet sub-committee was formed to deal with the situation on June 5, and consisted of Jawaharlal Nehru, Sardar Vallabhai Patel, Liaquat Ali Khan, Abdur Rab Nishtar and Baldev Singh.


  • On June 16, special cabinet committee aimed at tackling the administrative consequences of Partition was created.

  • It included the Viceroy, Sardar Vallabhai Patel, Rajendra Prasad, Liaquat Ali Khan, and Abdur Rab Nishtar.


Source: Indian Express , AIR and PIB 

Topic GS-1: UPSC The Freedom Struggle - its various stages and important contributions from different parts of the country, MPPSC, Part A, Unit 3, National Freedom Movement and Its Leaders , Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav